The official site of Stephin Merritt, The Magnetic Fields, The 6ths, The Future Bible Heroes, and The Gothic Archies

Copyright 2014 The Magnetic Fields. All Rights Reserved.

The Magnetic Fields
Love at the Bottom of the Sea
CD/LP/Digital, Merge Records, March 2012

Love at the Bottom of the Sea

The Magnetic Fields will be releasing a new album, Love at the Bottom of the Sea, on March 6, 2012, on Merge Records in North America, and Domino Records overseas. The band's tenth full-length album is their first release of new material with Merge since 1999's highly acclaimed 69 Love Songs. The band will celebrate their new album with tours through North America and Europe. Please visit the calendar for full ticket purchasing information.

Merritt notes about the new album that "instead of using a synthesizer as a melodic instrument, much of the time I used it as a compositional destructive mechanism, something eating away at the apparent order of my perfectionist arrangements. I was very happy to be using synthesizers in ways that I had not done before. Most of the synthesizers on the record didn't exist when we were last using synthesizers."

The songs - none over three minutes long - were recorded with Merritt's usual cast of collaborators: Claudia Gonson, Sam Davol, John Woo, Shirley Simms, Johny Blood and Daniel Handler.

There will be a limited-edition eggshell-colored vinyl available exclusively to those who pre-order the album at the Merge Records Store. The first 100 people who order the album from Merge will receive a free signed poster and a Magnetic Fields button.

Track Listing:

  1. God Wants Us to Wait
  2. Andrew in Drag
  3. Your Girlfriend's Face
  4. Born for Love
  5. I'd Go Anywhere with Hugh
  6. Infatuation (with your gyration)
  7. Only Boy in Town
  8. The Machine in Your Hand
  9. Goin' Back to the Country
  10. I've Run Away to Join the Fairies
  11. The Horrible Party
  12. My Husband's Pied a Terre
  13. I Don't Link Your Tone
  14. Quick!
  15. All She Cares About Is Mariachi

Latest Release
CD/LP/Digital, Merge Records, March 2012
Realism CD Cover
Nonesuch, January 2010
Distortion CD Cover
Nonesuch, January 2008
i CD Cover
Nonesuch, May 2004
69 Love Songs CD Cover
Merge, Sept. 1999
Get Lost CD Cover
Merge, Oct. 1995
House of Tomorrow CD Cover
Merge, Jan. 1999
Holiday CD Cover
Merge, Jan. 1999
Charm of the Highway Strip CD Cover
Merge, Apr. 1994
The Wayward Bus CD Cover
Merge, Jan. 1995