The Gothic Archies


The Gothic Archies is the Gothic rock-bubblegum pop band of celebrated songwriter Stephin Merritt, also of The Magnetic Fields, The 6ths, and Future Bible Heroes. Merritt is the only member although he hopes to acquire more soon.

What makes this band different from The Magnetic Fields is that any glimmer of hope is absolutely extinguished.

The Gothic Archies have released two records,“The New Despair” in 1997 on Merge Records, and “The Tragic Treasury: Music for ‘A Series of Unfortunate Events, ’” in 2006 on Nonesuch Records.

“The Tragic Treasury” is a compilation of songs originally written for the audiobooks of each of the 13 volumes of Lemony Snicket's "Series of Unfortunate Events" book series. On The Tragic Treasury, these 13 songs are compiled, plus a 14th theme song, “We are the Gothic Archies.”